IF THESE WALLS COULD TALK

If these walls could talk
They would tell you
Tell you everything I try so hard to mask

If these walls could talk
They would tell you
“I died when you left”
And each night my soul was tormented
Tormented because every time I rolled over in my bed
I was reminded of the vast emptiness in my soul
And how I was taken back to the day you left
You held me close
I closed my eyes for a moment and you were gone

If these walls could talk
They would tell you
“I stared in my mirror every morning”
Trying to identify who I saw

If these walls could talk
They would tell you
“I sat in the dark every night”
Vacant stare on my face
Trying so hard to obliterate every trace of you in my heart

They would tell you
“I paced around frantically as they closed in on me”

If these walls could talk
They would tell you
“I lay on my bed
My heart and mind warring”

They would tell you
“I put on my best each night
Sat on the floor
And wrote on pieces of paper
Telling myself I did not love you
Till I believed it”

6 thoughts on “IF THESE WALLS COULD TALK

  1. BlueGem says:

    I like this a lot. There is something about your expression that grabs my attention. I especially like the ending.

  2. I’m really loving this one Nelly!

Leave a Reply

