Don’t Tell Me To Follow My Heart

I can not recall the many times I have been at a cross road in my life, gone to my friends for advice and they tell me to Follow My Heart!
I have never given much thought to this till a friend of mine recently updated her facebook status saying “don’t tell me to follow my heart bc you will be shocked”.
I didn’t comment on that update and I did not ask her what she meant by that but that statement caught ny attention.
The more I thought about it, the more I realized the same could be said about me. I have a tendency to do what people tell me NOT to do. No, I am not disobedient. I just think its fun shocking people because these days, almost every one walks a tight rope; some people can’t even take e a joke.

Anyway, every time I went ahead and followed my heart; I wound up getting hurt which left me at this conclusion: My heart does not know what it is doing!
I know when people tell you to ‘follow your heart’ they don’t mean it literally but if they did, I’d tell them my heart has no legs and so can’t move unless I do. In that case, how can I follow something that is totally dependent on me for movement?
With that said, please take note that I use my mind for thinking and not my heart so next time someone wants to suggest to me a body part I should follow, I recommend my brain.
😀

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Tell Me To Follow My Heart

  1. BlueGem says:

    ;D very sound advice my friend.

  2. TwoLiveBlog says:

    Reblogged this on thearmorthemanthelover and commented:
    Very nice. I often follow my mind too.

Leave a Reply

