Strangers

I awoke to pain
Shame
Testimony of the previous night
When Light
Shone upon a new era
And I resolved to forget every past error
So I could create room
For truth in my life

He sat next to me
Told me
The truth
About my life
Asked me why I hold on to strife
When all it does
Is slowly kill
Me. Stand still
And look within you
You will see
What a few
Have seen.
The beauty of your soul
The calmness of your heart
The truth in your eyes
The happiness in your smile
And the freedom in your laughter
He spoke of things
I knew
But had not embraced
So I questioned
Life
Love
Friendship
Family
Trust
Me

When strangers know
You more than friends
Do
When strangers tell
You the truth
About you
You are left wondering
Who the liar is
Me?
Friends?
Strangers?

Leave a Reply

