Happiness, Love and Beauty

I have been told, I have to create my own happiness
Before
I can make somebody else happy
I have been told I have to love myself
Before I can love somebody else
Or let somebody else love me
I have been told I have to believe I am beautiful
Before
I believe it when somebody else tells me

I am happy
I love myself
I am beautiful

Happiness baffles me
I choose to be happy
Laugh more
Enjoy life more
Take a few risks
Write some more
Maybe deviate a little from my style
Explore other ventures
Accept the place I am in
Be grateful for I am blessed
Not lucky
And it works
For days
I can’t stop laughing
Life is great
I enjoy what am writing
Personalize the place I am in
I am more blessed
Then I hear a knock on my door
*knock* *knock* *knock*
I get no reply when I ask who it is
So I open the day
Maybe the person is shy
But sadness creeps in
And happiness leaves through the back door
Its like I woke up
And am surrounded by weeping
I must be at a funeral!
How did things change so fast?

Love intrigues me
Is it an emotion?
An action?
A thought?
A myth?
A fantasy?
Whatever it is
I love myself
Completely and truly
With no room for leakage
I feel my love for me
My actions towards me symbolize how much I care
I feel it when I think of me
if you say you love me
I will not question you
Maybe I will
Maybe I won’t
But I will believe you
Its hard to explain love
I guess that makes it
An emotion

The thing about beauty is
It fades
Its not perfect
There’s always something amiss
A big nose
Small eyes
Little hands
Long feet
Short hair
In short
Outer beauty is vanity
Inner beauty is forever
I have accepted me
For better and
For worse
In sickness
And in health
For richer
And for poor
Till the day I die a natural death
Poverty won’t make me think less of myself
Sickness is a common denominator amongst us all
So getting sick won’t make me kill myself
I am more than just a pretty face
Adorned with makeup
I am more than just a body
Dressed up in clothes

I am a human being
In pursuit of happiness
Which is found in loving yourself first
And
Enhanced by you accepting yourself
With your imperfections

Leave a Reply

