Writer’s Block

Firstly…

WHAT IS WRITER’S BLOCK?

Dictionary.com describes writers block
as ‘a TEMPORARY condition in which a
writer finds it impossible to proceed
with the writing of a novel, play or
other work’.

From that definition, i understand that
writers block is temporary and in my
world, ‘temporary = less than a
month’. It should not last longer than
that. Period.

From my angle, i would describe
writers block as ‘a period of time that
ranges from 1 hour to 1 month in
which a writer feels lazy to write’. In
my understanding,writers write. It
doesn’t matter what. If you are a
writer,you have to write. In the same
way, if you are a teacher,you have to
teach.

Why 1 hour?
I personally set aside at most 1 hour
everyday to write. Doesn’t matter
what. I just know that during that
hour, i have to write something even if
its lyrics to a song that i like.

CAUSES of Writers block

1. Lack of inspiration- i don’t agree. As
a writer,i believe i can derive
inspiration from anything. From that
boring sunday i lay around doing
nothing to that moment i hear birds
singing, rain on my window and
everything seems to be in sync.

2. Distraction-choosing to write at time
you are supposed to be doing
something else. You might succeed at
first but along the way,something has
to give and i’m guessing it’s the
writing. In so doing,you might lose
sight of the big picture of what you’re
writing and if that happens then
everything goes KABOOM…

3. Feeling paralyzed by previous
success-it’s kind of expected of human
beings to exist in a state of
progression. If you write a good piece
today,you are expected to write a
better piece the next day. I have to
admit, i have experienced this
sometimes. I would write something
that i feel is the best i can ever write
and so this keeps me from writing
something new for fear of failing but i
know i’m not there yet and so i try and
try and i am still trying.

4. Physical illness- this is
understandable.

5. End of a relationship- this shouldn’t
cause one to deflect from their passion
as writing is and can be a release for
all that pain you are keeping closed in.
In fact, talking about it helps you heal
that much faster.

6. Financial pressures.

7. Depression-maybe this can pass off
as a legit cause but it depends on how
severe the depression is. If all your
life’s work is in some way
damaged,lets say in a fire then
YES,you have every right to be
depressed.

8. Sometimes writers feel what they
are writing seems to be beyond their
ability. I’ll tell you what i always tell
myself; ‘it’s all in the mind’. Have the
right approach towards life.

Remedy -write! If you fail just keep
trying.

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. Benny Blow says:

    I wrestle with writer’s block ALL the time. Sometimes I feel like maybe I’m not really a writer because of it. But when I do write,I know its good. How then,can I not be a writer?
    I think I should set aside time to write everyday as well. But I don’t like to force things and write weak pieces. I’ll try at least :). Good to know there’s plenty of us!
    *Benny Blow likes this*

    • Firstly, thanks for reading and commenting :). Secondly, you need to be a bad writer to be a good one. Just write, even if its bad. That helps you know what you’re good at..hope that helps; but do set time aside for you to write…anything 😀

Leave a Reply

