Dear Sister, Rest In Peace

Nelly and Noreen back when we were young

Nelly and Noreen back when we were young

Am short of words because I still can’t
believe you’re gone. I watched as you
were lowered in the ground and I
refused to believe I would never get to
see you again except on photo’s!
Am sitting here wondering just where
I will start from… Am surrounded by
emptiness. All alone in this empty
bedroom. This is too much wardrobe
space..all this bed space..that shoe
rack..that dressing table…
I don’t know what’s happening love.
You can’t be gone. They tell me to
accept you’re gone but how do I live
without you after 18 years of living
with you??
I miss you already!!
I now don’t have a sister. All alone.
Nobody to tell about the hustle of
being in love, nobody to ask how I look
before I head out, nobody to tease,
nobody to entertain with my crazy
behavior, nobody to watch ‘master
chef’ with. Nobody to tell my future
plans…so many dreams left
unfulfilled. We were supposed to grow
up and get married and have
thanksgiving dinners together but all
that will never be. How could you go
before I wrote that poem you had been
asking me to write for months? Can I
go back and just have one more day
with you so I can see you laugh, smile
and tell about how your day was? Can
I have that?
Sis..my one and only Kaluba (little
flower), rest in peace my honey. I will
miss you sooooo much esp that I was
closest to you. I will miss our friday
nights in watching criminal minds,
ugly betty, house. So many little things
I will miss. My artist, my painter, my
bridesmaid, my lawyer, my sister, my
friend…rest in peace! Watch over us!!
Love you!!

Noreen Kaluba Nunu Katebe (16th May, 1993 – 30th January, 2012)

last photo we took together on new years eve, 2011.

last photo we took together on new years eve, 2011.

4 thoughts on “Dear Sister, Rest In Peace

  1. Sorry for your lost,such beautiful poem! You in my prayers! God Bless

  2. Martin Shone says:

    My condolences Nelly.

Leave a Reply

